Badger Bowl

2010 Kurt Davids New Years Eve Results

The 11th Frame: Lee tops Ryder for Kurt Davids Memorial New Years Eve Day Classic title

JEFF RICHGELS | Posted: Friday, December 31, 2010 7:00 pm

Blong Lee defeated Alan Ryder to win the Kurt Davids Memorial New Years Eve Classic at Badger Bowl.

First was $900 and second $625.

Earning $375 each for third and fourth were Herb Kimpel and Joey Buchwald.

A stunning 145 bowlers turned out to honor Davids, the former Badger and Schwoegler’s pro shop operator who passed in 2010.

The cut to the top 24 in the handicap event was 905 after four games. Dal Geitz was the tournament leader at 1,021.

Full results are at Badger Pro Shop’s Facebook pageĀ here.

The lane condition was a house shot modified by the experts at Kegel to account for the huge turnout, which had 10 bowlers competing on most pairs at Badger.

The result was a very heavy concentration of oil in the front and middle of the lane that quickly turned into a tricky wet/dry reaction. I had no trouble finding the pocket with a variety of balls but could not solve the puzzle correctly to carry strikes, leaving me with an anemic 815 total.

Many of the area’s other scratch bowlers had similar results, making for a very interesting finals field that I’m sure my great buddy Kurt enjoyed immensely from the best view in the house Friday.

I can’t wait to honor him again on his birthday on Dec. 31, 2011.

Madisons Favorite Family Entertainment Center